Election Commission may announce dates for Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland Assembly elections today

Election Commission is most likely to announce the poll dates for Assembly elections in Tripura, Meghalaya and Nagaland on Friday. the Assembly elections are likely to be held in February and voting in all the three northeastern states will be conducted in a single phase. The terms of the Assemblies in Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura — with 60 seats each — will expire on 6, 13 and 14 March respectively.

The final electoral rolls of Tripura were published on 5 January with names of 25,69,216 voters, Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Sriram Taranikanti had said.

For the first time, the third gender option was included in the final rolls and 11 people had registered their names under the category, Taranikanti had said. Of the remaining 25,69,205 voters, 13,03,420 are males and 12,65,785 females. The final rolls were published after looking into all claims and objections filed from different quarters of Tripura.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *